In the Spirit of Full Disclosure

Thirteen, 8 weeks and one day

It seems so much faster to me this time.  I guess with my first babies, I was just in a hurry to see them get to egg-laying age.  But, this time, I’m enjoying the baby period more and it seems like it’s flying by!

Full Disclosure

Anyway, for all my peace and karma and bunny-loving posting… I guess I killed the baby bunny after all.  I stepped on the bunny on Saturday.  Then, Sunday and Monday were cold and super rainy and I didn’t spend much time outside.  Then yesterday, I was hanging with the chickpeas in the grass and I wandered over to the bunny brush pile.  I was looking at one of their entrances and I saw it – a dead, soggy, bunny body.  I have to guess it was the same bunny.  And, of course, I felt like crap because I must have really injured it when I stepped on it.  I thought I just scared it because it was so feisty and strong when I was holding it.  I guess not.  So, I guess the lesson here is that I should have killed it right off like I threatened to do.  It would have been really hard, but it would have been better than letting it suffer to death (internal bleeding?  broken leg?  starvation?  hypothermia?).  If had known, it would have been an easy choice.

So, there it is.  I try to keep it real on this blog.  Sad, but true.

Happier Things

a present from Sofia

If you look in the lower left of that picture, you’ll see that Sofia left me a present today.  She laid her first egg since going broody all those weeks ago!  She still looks like she’s in molt, but she’s laying nonetheless.  I thought it might be coming soon because she’s been submitting to the roosters lately, whereas until recently, she fought them and screamed and ran.  Now she squats down, butt in the air, when they are within a few feet of her and singing to her.  It’s a noticeable change.

Thirteen on perch above Sofia's egg

And Thirteen is getting more and more independent… often wandering away from mom without even noticing.  You can also see in this picture the dark wash on the front of the baby’s legs that Judy from Judy’s Square Foot Garden mentioned.  It hopefully means she’s a girl.  The jury is still out.  You can also see the pink comb area in this pic.  And how cute is the Cuckoo coloring with the Easter Egger muffs?!

Tomatoes

Tomato seedlings, 4.5 weeks from seed planting

My tomato seedlings are growing like MAD.  I’m really not sure what I’m going to do.  The 4″ blocks are supposed to hold them for up to 4 weeks or longer.  But, after one week in the 4″ blocks, they’ve already got roots all the way to the bottom and coming out the sides!

root emerging from the bottom side of 4" block

They really need to be transplanted now, but even with my Agribon floating row covers, it’s too early.  I’ve got to wait at least another week.  They’re growing too fast!  You’re supposed to start them 6 to 8 weeks before the average last frost date.  Our date is April 14th, which is just over 6 weeks from when I started them.  We’re at 4.5 weeks and they’re already ready.  I guess the lesson learned here is that the germination mats and grow lights and soil blocks and special blocking mix and worm tea work TOO well!  I guess next year I’ll start them a little later if they’re going to grow this fast!

2 thoughts on “In the Spirit of Full Disclosure

  1. Thirteen is SO CUTE!!!

    Wow – those little tomato plants are growing like gang busters. You’ll have to put in a big green house so you can put them in bigger pots and extend your growing period.

    We’ve had wonderfully warm sunny days followed by wind, rain, and hail.

  2. Pingback: Evening the Score and Keepin’ it Real « Lisa Has Chickens

Leave a Reply

