He Must Die

This sorry excuse for a rooster tries to murder the poor baby and then rape Sofia every chance he gets.  He is on my last nerve.  I know I have been threatening for a while now.  The only thing stopping me is the trouble of finding somewhere to isolate him for 24 hours (to clear his digestive tract) before killing him.  I am ready and waiting with my coq au vin recipe.  So, I keep telling myself that in a few weeks, mama and Thirteen can move back into the big coop and then I can use the baby coop as his isolation chamber.  I look forward to the day.  Maybe this is why he had no name for so long and why the name, Luke, never really felt right.  You’re not supposed to name the ones you’re going to eat.  It was fate.  You’re not supposed to make friends with them either.  Check and check.

Thirteen

JB and Thirteen meet under the bench

By the way, JB has been a perfect, fatherly gentleman to the baby, and Soup has mostly been indifferent.  It’s just Mr. Soon-to-be-Coq-Au Vin that is causing the trouble.  As for the baby, I’ve been trying to get good update pics, but the weather and life just haven’t been cooperating.  The above pic is from yesterday, as is this one:

Thirteen stands tall

If you click on this one to see the full-sized version, you can see the start of pink coloring on the comb and wattles:

Mama and Baby

This concerns me because the roosters all went pink first.  That and the standing-tall behavior.  Today, Thirteen is officially 5 weeks old.  Holy cow!  Five weeks already?  Unbelievable to me.

Mama butt, Baby butt (today)

Raspberries!

It was FREEZING cold today as the cold snap that was scheduled for the whole west coast hit.  That, plus the wind and bad light and my extremely low patience today lead me to give up in my quest to get actual, useful pictures of the raspberries.  But, please know that I was extraordinarily excited today not only to find green leaves and/or buds on all of my raspberry plants, but I also found FLOWER BUDS on some of my Autumn Britten red raspberries and my Anne golden raspberries.  Not only did they make it (I always assume everything that I plant will die), but we are going to get berries!  YAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!  Ok, now, look at the picture.  See the blurry, gray fuzzy things in the middle of the leaf cluster?  Those are flower buds.  You’ll just have to believe me.  I would never lie to you.  Probably.  For the most part.

Baby Planties!

Gourmet Beet Mix sprouts

So, the quick update on the seed starting is that it is going swimmingly well.  Just today, as I was starting to give up hope and accept the fact that some of my tomato varieties weren’t going to come up, I found sprouts of every single one!  This morning I was still short two or three varieties, and by this afternoon – BAM!  There they were.  My beautiful little babies.

tomato seedlings

My camera REALLY hates taking pictures of small things, and plants in particular, so I basically have nothing to show you here.  That’s why I started with the beet pic.  It’s the best I’ve got.  But, anyway, the above pic shows you that my Haley’s Purple Comet seedlings, the first of all seeds to sprout, now are forming their first set of true leaves.  Everything is going swimmingly.

onion sprouts

Also, I have onion pepper (sweet and hot), eggplant, cabbage, broccoli, bok choi, cilantro, lemon balm, basil, beet, chard, lettuce, and cauliflower sprouts.

jalapeno sprouts

Renee's Pan-Pacific baby stir-fry greens mix

red cabbage sprout

Lorelei Goes For A Walk

… on top of the baby coop run.  Ignore the lovely blue tarp.  It is temporary weather-protection for the baby coop.

Good night and good luck.

4 thoughts on “He Must Die

  1. I was curious to know how all your buds and sprouts faired with that little freeze. It was down to 23′ here in Olympia. Glorious sunshine this morning on my way to work.

    Good luck doing in Luke. Not nice of him to be picking on baby.

    They do grow up so very fast. My four hatched Oct 30th (19 wks ago) and I got my first egg from the leghorn. Little white pullet egg. Her comb and wattles got red, tall, and long a month ago and I was beginning to think she was a he, but no roo feathers. I still think the hen raised chicks seem to mature faster.

  2. Just a bit of advice coming from someone who had to off one of my roosters. (Well Jeff did the offing, I cleaned him.)

    But as far as preparing him…
    Skinning I think is easier than plucking.
    The meat is probably going to be really dark, and a lot of it.
    After you process him, make sure you soak him in salt water in the fridge for a couple days.

    I had read that rooster meat is often tough, or stringy.
    I simmered my rooster in chicken stock at a very low heat for a long time. I figured the slower the better. Then I took all the meat off the bones and made chicken soup.

    It was honestly the best chicken soup I’ve ever made.

    Good luck!

    Thirteen is adorable!

  3. And yep, I plan on making chicken soup or coq au vin with him. I know he’s no good for roasted or barbecued or fried chicken. The meat is dark on all truly free-range chickens (not commercial ones) because they get to move around so much, they get a lot more blood flow to their muscles, which makes them darker. I read about that in my chicken books! And also, people I know who have done it say the same thing. I am looking forward to seeing it for myself. Anyway, according to Julia Child, you’re supposed to make coq au vin with a “tough old cock.” (hence the name of the dish, “coq” is rooster). So I figure that’s what I’ll have and it will be perfect. :)

Leave a Reply

