And I Thought 24 Was Cold

Last night at 9:30 pm, it was 13.  THIRTEEN DEGREES for Pete’s sake!  I went out to check the chickens because I was having visions of frozen chicky-pops.  They were all merrily perched on the roosts, fluffy and sleeping and were quite annoyed that I had bothered them.  13 degrees and they didn’t even bat an eyelash.

This morning it is 10 degrees at 8:30 am.  Since the sun has been up almost an hour, I have to assume that 10 is not the coldest it got overnight.  I went out to the coop, at least expecting them to be hanging out under the heat lamp that is hanging over their poop-filled (I have no clue how people can stand fount waterers) waterer.  They were up and about like nothing was out of the ordinary.  Some were outside, playing in the run, some were hanging out or eating inside, and Pol Pot, Daisy Mae, and Sofia were all in nesting boxes working on laying eggs.  My chickens laugh in the face of 10 degrees!

The water was frozen solid except for the part right under the heat, but that was good enough.  They have something to drink.  In the next day or two, we’re going to install the new set of cup waterers, this time with continuous heat on them along every inch so that they never get the chance to freeze and break.  That will be a joyous day.

I took my camera (aren’t you impressed??) to take pictures of the thermometer and chickies and water, but it refused to even turn on.  I don’t know if it’s protesting the cold or what.  I could swear I had plenty of charge on the battery.  Anyway, it’s charging now so hopefully that will work and we’ll be back in picture-taking business in no time.

One thought on “And I Thought 24 Was Cold

  1. Not that I have anything against feet… but I have to admit I liked your chicken bottoms banner better. ;) I thought it was one of the cutest things ever.

    We had some snow here the other day. (northern panhandle of Wv.) My chickens didn’t seem bothered by it at all. I only have one bird that hangs out under the heat lamp. That’s Sterling. An EE who is molting. Poor girl looks so scraggly.

    I use a waterer like the one you are using now. I keep my suspended from the ceiling. I have a long rope with a clip, like for a dog leash. It’s only a 1 1/2 gallon waterer. It really doesn’t get too messy except when I let the ducks sleep in the coop for the night.

Leave a Reply

