This has got to be some kind of record…

11:30 am

I was just outside picking some peas and carrots in the garden before the day gets too hot (the last two days have been so hot and sunny after work that the chickens wouldn’t come out and working in the garden made me feel faint!), when suddenly I hear quite the commotion from inside the coop.  I look and no one is out in the run, so I stop and listen.  First, I just hear “the egg song” – buckbuck buhGAWK buck buhGAWK buhGAWK!!!  This is interesting to me because it’s the first time I’ve heard it since we actually started getting eggs.  When I caught Lady and the Marans pullet in the nests 2 days in a row, all was totally silent.  So, I thought – hey!  Maybe I’ve got another first-timer in there working on an egg!  Cool!  I listened a while longer and soon several of the others started up and the whole coop was filled with raucous buckbuckbuhGAWKs and scratching and thumping.  Chickens are excitable creatures and often will start making noise just because someone else is, but still, I thought maybe more than one is trying to lay right now!  Cool!

Anyway, so I headed into the coop through the people door, and as soon as I turned the latch, it was like hitting a switch – total silence.  I peek in and I find 12 chickens on the floor all facing the same way, frozen in their tracks, starting up at a nesting box.  The nesting box was the top-left one.  So much for a surprise.  I look toward the box myself and I see Blanche and Dorothy each perched on the bar in front of the box, flanking none other than Lady B, who was settled in the nest.  She was the cause of all the commotion, and I’ll be damned if she isn’t going to lay me her sixth egg in seven days.  I believe that is as productive as any chicken can possibly be, and that’s during peak laying when they are not just starting out.  Craziness.  More to come later.  Sorry for no pictures, but I don’t want to disturb her while she’s laying.

1:35pm

We came back from lunch and I went to check and yep, she laid another one.  6 in her first seven days of laying.  What’s that?  It’s a bird!  It’s a plane!  No, it’s SUPERCHICKEN!!

2 thoughts on “This has got to be some kind of record…

  1. I have 4 chickens almost the same age as yours (I got mine Feb. 5th) so I have been faithfully following yours and My Empty Nest Days blogs.

    Today I found my first egg! Two of my chickens have been showing signs of being ready but I was still surprised. It is so hard to believe that is really where eggs come from. :)

    I am pretty sure it was my Rhode Island Red the other one showing signs is an EE but the egg was brownish.

  2. congratulations on your first egg! It is very exciting, isn’t it? It’s what we’ve all been working toward for all this time, and it’s still hard to believe that we have our very own eggs!

Leave a Reply

