AHAHAHAHAHAHA!! Success!!!

012

Yes, I am a prophet.  Please note that in my post yesterday, I predicted that in the morning, our friend Cool would be hopping up and down from the perch happily and not using the steps at all.  Here is photographic proof of my psychic future-telling abilities!  OK, so you can’t see that she hopped straight up from the ground but she did, I promise.

Anyway, overall, the perch is a big success.  While it is too cold out for them to sleep on it instead of under the lights, many of the babies have spent today hopping on and off the perch.  Also, there is poop on the ramp next to the perch so someone has used it as a step up.  Very exciting!  Brian’s creation is a success!

003

005

009

you can see her eyeing the ramp...

038

052

Making Friends

I am also excited for another reason – today, three different chicks let me touch them a little and they didn’t run away in terror!!!!!  Granted, they shifted away from my hand and acted slightly annoyed, but still, I view it as a great success.  When they are all up and perky, many of them come running over to me when I come in to see them, but if I reach toward them, they have been running away.  Today, I brought the little ramekin over by my feet and filled it with food.  One by one, several of them came over to eat from the dish and that is when they allowed me to touch them a bit.  I really hope we’ll get to the point where they let me hold them and pet them!!!

A picture of my brilliant plan!

A picture of my brilliant plan!

In other news, I have gotten some better pictures for you.  I got a nice close up of our largest chick, on of the Cuckoo Marans.  He/she is physically larger in every way and more feathered out than anyone else as well.

Our biggest chick

Our biggest chick

A good view of his/her back feathers

A good view of his/her back feathers

Also, I got some pictures of Mystery Chick’s blue legs.  They are the same color as the Ameraucanas’ legs, which are also supposed to be blue, but he/she is clearly not an Ameraucana.  It is tricky to get decent pictures of Mystery Chick because he/she has turned into our shyest chick.

Mystery Chick's blue legs

Mystery Chick's blue legs

another shot of the legs

another shot of the legs

And here are a few more random, cute pics for you:

Pretty Ameraucana chick with a good view of her eyeliner

Pretty Ameraucana chick with a good view of her eyeliner

pretty colors on  her growing wing feathers

pretty colors on her growing wing feathers

Two Ameraucana chicks

Two Ameraucana chicks

Buff Orpington

Buff Orpington

The Name Game

So, I am tired of calling my pretty, chocolate-colored Ameraucana chick, “Cool” which was short for “the cool-looking one” which we used to refer to her on the day we got them.  She seems to be a feature of many posts and stories and pictures and she needs a proper name.  She is supposed to be a girl, and I certainly hope she is.  Her new and forever name is Lady Banks, named after the rose of the same name.

Lady Banks, the rose

Lady Banks, the rose

Lady Banks, the chicken

Lady Banks, the chicken

That’s it for now.  More names to come.

Leave a Reply

